Media Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 4, 2018

The new Town of Caledon Council is sworn in

The 2018 to 2022 Town of Caledon Council was sworn in tonight at a special inaugural meeting of Council.

In front of a large crowd of family, friends, members of the public and media, Justice of the Peace Valerie G. Carty officiated as the Mayor and each Member of Council read the Declaration of Office.

The new Town of Caledon Council is comprised of:

- Mayor Allan Thompson
- Ward 1 Regional Councillor Ian Sinclair
- Ward 1 Area Councillor Lynn Kiernan
- Ward 2 Regional Councillor Johanna Downey
- Ward 2 Area Councillor Christina Early
- Wards 3 and 4 Regional Councillor Jennifer Innis
- Wards 3 and 4 Area Councillor Nick DeBoer
- Ward 5 Regional Councillor Annette Groves
- Ward 5 Area Councillor Tony Rosa

"I'm honoured to re-affirm my commitment to serve all residents of Caledon," said Mayor Allan Thompson. "I look forward to working with my colleagues on Council to strengthen the bonds that make this 'community of communities' such a distinctive place to live and work."

The new Council begins its work next Tuesday, December 11 with committee meetings at 1 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. (open to the public). On the following Tuesday (December 18) there is a special budget presentation at 1:00 p.m. and then the first full Council meeting (7:00 p.m.).

For more information about the Town of Caledon Council, including photos, biographies and links to agendas, minutes and other information, visit <u>caledon.ca/council</u>.

To receive news, announcements, road closure alerts and other information about programs and services from the Town of Caledon, <u>download the Town of Caledon app</u>, visit our website at <u>caledon.ca</u> or follow @YourCaledon on <u>Twitter</u>, <u>Facebook</u> or Instagram. Subscribe to our weekly newsletter at <u>caledon.ca/enews</u>.

- 30 -



Media Contact:

Strategic Initiatives | Communications 905.584.2272 | <u>communications@caledon.ca</u>

