

Inaugural Council Meeting Minutes Tuesday, December 2, 2014 7:00 p.m. Hall A and B, Caledon Community Complex

> Mayor A. Thompson Councillor D. Beffort Councillor N. de Boer Councillor J. Downey Councillor A. Groves Councillor A. Groves Councillor G. McClure Councillor R. Mezzapelli Councillor B. Shaughnessy

Chief Administrative Officer: D. Barnes Director of Administration/Town Clerk: C. deGorter Fire Chief: D. Forfar Director of Development Approval & Planning Policy/Deputy CAO: M. Hall Director of Parks & Recreation: L. Johnston Manager of Economic Development: N. Lingard Director of Public Works: D. Loveridge Director of Human Resources: J. Porter Treasurer: P. Tollett Director of Corporate Services/Chief Financial Officer: F. Wong

1. PROCESSION OF COUNCIL ELECT

Council-elect and special guests were piped to their seats by 7:20 p.m.

2. <u>O CANADA</u>

Ms. Victoria Fragomeni led those in attendance in the singing of the National Anthem.

3. CALL TO ORDER

Town Clerk, Carey deGorter called the Inaugural Meeting of the Council of Caledon to order at 7:25 p.m.

4. <u>PRAYER</u>

Pastor Bryan Fox provided the opening prayer.

5. DECLARATION OF OFFICE MAYOR ELECT ALLAN THOMPSON

Justice of the Peace, Carol Seglins administered the declaration of office to Mayor-Elect Allan Thompson and placed the Chain of Office on the Mayor.

6. DECLARATION OF OFFICE COUNCILLORS ELECT

Justice of the Peace, Carol Seglins administered the declarations of office for Council-Elect.

7. DEDICATORY ADDRESS

Pastor Jeff Enns delivered a dedicatory address to Council and the assembly congratulating Council.

8. INAUGURAL ADDRESS

Mayor Allan Thompson delivered his Inaugural address to the assembly. Mayor Thompson welcomed Council-elect and outlined priorities for his term of office.

9. ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF FORMER MAYORS

Mayor Thompson introduced former Mayors, Emil Kolb, Carol Seglins and Marolyn Morrison who were in attendance at the meeting.

10. GREETINGS FROM DESIGNATED OFFICIALS

Greetings to the newly appointed Council members were received from Sylvia Jones MPP for Dufferin-Caledon, Emil Kolb outgoing Chair of Region of Peel and Inspector Tim Melanson, Detachment Commander of Caledon Ontario Provincial Police.

11. INTRODUCTION OF SPECIAL GUESTS

Mayor Thompson introduced special guests in attendance and thanked his family and friends for support during his campaign. Mayor Thompson further acknowledged and thanked his campaign team for their hard work and dedication throughout the election campaign.

Members of Council expressed thanks to family and friends for their support throughout the campaign process. Each Member of Council provided comments concerning the upcoming term of Council.

12. <u>BY-LAWS</u>

Moved by D. Beffort - Seconded by J. Innis

2014-404

That by-law BL-2014-094 to confirm the proceedings of the Council for The Corporation of the Town of Caledon at its Inaugural Council Meeting held on the 2nd day of December, 2014, be read a first, second and third time and finally passed.

Carried.

13. ADJOURNMENT

On verbal motion moved by Councillor McClure and seconded by Councillor Groves, Council adjourned at 8:33 p.m.

llan Thompson, Mayor Carey deGorter, Clerk